Sandwirth
Stories

Emperor Napoleon, Udo Jürgens and many other famous guests have experienced the Sandwirth as a magical place to LOVE, and it has remained the same over the centuries.

Today this tradition of warmth and passion is continued by Helvig Kanduth, whose personal love story began at the Sandwirth Hotel. Indeed, “Mrs. Sandwirth” met her husband Robert in the hotel. From that evening onwards her heart has been linked to the hotel from a professional and personal point of view.

But it’s not just romantic love that blesses Sandwirth hotel; CORDIALITY IS A PERMANENT GUEST. The facility has been, and still is, home to many charities such as Rotary, Lions, Soroptimist, Kiwanis or the legendary Drahrer, who as early as 1916 went around leaving Christmas gifts for poor boys and girls.

But nobody has shaped the history of the Sandwirth Hotel more than Franziska and Josef Jamek, indeed, this establishment was their great common love. With warmth and passion, Franzi – as she was affectionately called by her husband – and Josef gave their hotel a soul that lives on in the walls even today.

FRANZISKA JAMEK
ALIAS FRANZI

Host with a passion

Franzi was a cook out of passion.

Her herring salad was legendary and her homemade SANDWIRTH PUDDING became the flagship of the establishment. It was, so to speak, the Sachertorte of Klagenfurt.

NAPOLEON

The conqueror

Even Emperor Napoleon, at the Sandwirth hotel, once again lived up to his fame as a conqueror (of hearts). Indeed, during his stay as a guest, the “great” Corsican had a relationship with a beautiful inhabitant of Klagenfurt. It is said that, in memory of this, Bonaparte received a handmade marzipan heart as a gift from this pretty woman. A WAY TO A MAN’S HEART IS THROUGH HIS STOMACH.

History

The Sandwirth Hotel on Lake Wörthersee is one of the most historic buildings in Klagenfurt, the capital of the region.

The structure was first mentioned in a document dated 1658. Franz Anton Rohr of Rohrau bought the house in 1735 near the ramparts, in the immediate vicinity of the Villach Gate, and initially established a restaurant there. The inn at the ramparts continued to exist for several decades, under new owners. Jakob Ulbing bought the house at no. 317 of Fürstengasse on 7 November 1813 and called it “the Sandwirth”.

The Jamek family ran the house for over 100 years, until the turn of the century. Franziska and Josef Jamek turned the house into a social meeting place in Klagenfurt. The herring festival, the Sunday roast in the restaurant and the Sandwirth hazelnut pudding (still prepared according to the original recipe) were all legendary.

Robert Kanduth took over the Sandwirth at the start of this century and in 2002 transformed it into a 4-star hotel. In 2003 the new owner had his first date with his future wife Helvig at the Hotel Sandwirth and so this hotel, full of history, gained a new family. Since then Helvig Kanduth has been running the family business.

Sandwirth
Geschichten

Kaiser Napoleon, Udo Jürgens und viele mehr oder weniger bekannte Gäste lernten den Sandwirth als magischen Ort ZUM VERLIEBEN kennen – und das ist über die Jahrhunderte so geblieben.

Heute wird diese Tradition der Herzlichkeit und Leidenschaft von Helvig Kanduth weitergeführt, deren ganz persönliche Liebesgeschichte ebenfalls im Sandwirth begonnen hat. Denn hier lernte die „Sandwirthin“ ihren Mann Robert kennen. Seit diesem Abend hängt ihr Herz beruflich wie privat am Hotel.

Doch nicht nur die romantische Liebe hält im Sandwirth seit jeher Einkehr. Auch DIE HERZLICHKEIT IST STAMMGAST. Das Haus war und ist Sitz vieler karitativer Vereine wie der Rotarier, Lions, Soroptimisten, Kiwanis oder der legendären Drahrer, deren Runde bereits 1916 arme Buben und Mädchen zu Weihnachten beschenkte.

Keiner aber hat die Geschichte des Sandwirth mehr geprägt als Franziska und Josef Jamek. Denn das Haus war ihre große gemeinsame Liebe. Mit Herzlichkeit und Leidenschaft haben Franzi – wie sie liebevoll von ihrem Mann genannt wurde – und Josef ihrem Hotel eine Seele eingehaucht, die in den Mauern heute noch lebendig ist.

FRANZISKA JAMEK
ALIAS FRANZI

Gastgeberin aus Leidenschaft 

Franzi war eine Köchin aus Leidenschaft.

Ihr Heringssalat war legendär, und der selbst kreierte SANDWIRTH PUDDING wurde zum Aushängeschild des Hauses. Zur Sachertorte Klagenfurts sozusagen.

NAPOLEON

Der Eroberer

Selbst Kaiser Napoleon wurde im Sandwirth seinem Ruf als Eroberer (der Herzen) einmal mehr gerecht. Der „große“ Korse hatte hier als Gast eine Liaison mit einer schönen Klagenfurterin. Zur Erinnerung soll Bonaparte von seiner holden Maid mit einem Lebkuchenherz aus hauseigener Produktion beschenkt worden sein. LIEBE GEHT HALT AUCH DURCH DEN MAGEN.

Geschichte

Das Hotel Sandwirth am Wörthersee ist eines der geschichtsträchtigsten Häuser und Hotels der Landeshauptstadt Klagenfurt.

1658 wird das Haus erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. 1735 ersteht Franz Anton Rohr von Rohrau das Haus an der Bastei gleich neben dem Villacher Tor und errichtet erstmals eine Gastwirtschaft. Die Gastwirtschaft an der Bastei bleibt weitere Jahrzehnte unter neuen Eigentümern bestehen. Jakob Ulbing kauft das Haus Nr. 317 Fürstengasse am 7. November 1813  und tauft es „zum Sandwirth“.

Familie Jamek prägte das Haus über 100 Jahre bis zur Jahrtausendwende. Franziska und Josef Jamek entwickelten das Haus zum gesellschaftlichen Treffpunkt Klagenfurts. Legendär waren der Heringsschmaus, der Sonntagsbraten im Restaurant und der Sandwirth Haselnuss Pudding, der noch heute nach Original Rezept zubereitet wird.

Im neuen Jahrtausend übernimmt Robert Kanduth den Sandwirth und baut ihn 2002 zum 4 Sterne Hotel um. Der neue Hausherr hat sein erstes Rendezvous im Jahr 2003 mit seiner Frau Helvig im Hotel Sandwirth und somit bekam das geschichtsträchtige Hotel auch wieder eine Familie. Seither leitet Helvig Kanduth die Geschäfte des Hauses.